Dieng Plateau

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So if anyone is lost, I’ve just started on my Indonesia series in Yogyakarta.

We reached Dieng Plateau, some 2000m above sea levels. Dieng Plateau used to be a huge volcano, then it exploded and collapsed, resulting in a plateau surrounding by smaller mountains and volcanos, craters and mineral pools. The area soil is rich with minerals and to prevent the soil from eroding or creating mudslides villages draw beautiful plantation lines along the mountain slopes. Most of the plantations are potato plants (Yes my first love!) The potatoes varies from sweet to plain potatoes, yams etc… They also have a mushroom harvest here as well.

The interesting thing I experienced in Dieng Plateau, I don’t think I’ve been up high in the mountains before and it never occurred to me that the altitude would affect my body. When I was there I felt a terrible headache, at first I thought it was because of the sulphur in the air cause by the release of gases from nearby craters or leaks from the ground. But I later realise it may be also because of the altitude, my friend experience something similar to it as well.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Just an awesome view.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love this tree below, I love how they just left it to grow surrounded by the plantations and how it just has a great view overlooking the plateau. Its a windows desktop background tree! haha.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

