Hong Kong Travels

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is not my first time in Hong Kong, Hong Kong is all too familiar. In many ways, Hong Kong is very much like my home country, Singapore. We all started from small sea towns that grew to mega international ports, we’re a host to several nationalities, so much so that, in many ways, both countries are really just made out of foreigners. Because of this as well, you’ll be able to experience so many types of cultures, cuisines and way of life.

The difference I have to say, is that Hong Kong is an older Singapore that has acquired an unique taste and look of it’s own and embraces it so well.

So back to what I was saying, it’s not my first time, perhaps my 5th or 6th time here. However, it’s my first time with Raphi and it’s the first time I’ve experience Hong Kong for what it could offer. If you didn’t know, most Singaporeans come here to BUY and EAT but theres so much more to the city and if you follow my blog I’ll show you what I’ve discovered.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Everything you expect Hong Kong to be, stain buildings plastered with decade-old posters. Billboards every few steps you make, a veil of soot covers the whole of Hong Kong but it brings a certain charm to it.

We stayed on the Hong kong island along the dried seafood street. It’s quite a scene (and smell) to experience, the whole street is bustling with life in the early morn and by afternoon it’s quiet. Dried abalone and scallops scattered everywhere, flatten squids left on the streets to dry. If you’re not OCD maybe you’d give the dry seafood stuff a try.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

P1190951

The amazing thing about Hong Kong is that they make super tall government buildings so compactly close to each other, this gives the name urban jungle it’s true meaning. Just think about the times you go into a jungle and you look up and you see the trees scrambling to reach up to the light, so closely packed against each other, it looks something like this.

P1190952


P1190487

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

