Wet Markets in Hong Kong


P1190961

I can’t remember what I was searching for in the last days here, I think it was the fabric market but instead we wandered into a residential area. The houses were older than old and so fascinating.

I didn’t find my fabric market in the end, but found something more curious instead.

P1190962

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I saw this old watch mender and his little push cart, I think this will be the first and last time I see anything like this. He had lots of nice leather straps, just love how he displays them all along the little window pane.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As we walked around to find the fabric market we stumbled upon a wet market, much like the wet market in Singapore but more raw and grittier. A foam box full of price tags, pails of suffocating fish and all parts of the pig laid out to display!! There was even pigs heart and brains and it was uncomfortable cos it does really resemble human parts some how.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

All sorts of strange sea crustaceans laid out on the street.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Hong Kong Wet markets

Some bamboo clams, pomfret fish, flower crabs, lobsters, giant clams and cockels!!

Hong Kong Wet markets

Some hearts and lungs.

You know, normal.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

