Nan Lian Gardens

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My first post was on Chi Lin and now its on the gardens that the nunnery faces : Nan Lian Garden.

This gardens is chinese classical garden, with pagoda & wooden bridges, water features like koi pods and small lakes, small curved paths and undulating hills of giant rocks and lots of bonsai trees. It is very similar to a japanese garden, I know right off there are some variances but I can’t exactly tell you where because I’ve never been to an authentic japans garden before.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This bridge often reminds me of a scene in memoirs of the geisha because the bridges back then had looked very similar in style.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The view from Chi lin nunnery entrance, if you remember there was a big pathway/space and you could overlook Nan Lian gardens from there.

P1190425

A view from below.

P1190432

The private collection of bonsais, I have to say they are very beautiful and impressive.

P1190449

 

P1190445

A beautiful pagoda style bridge so you can sit and ponder about life while watching the Kois swim in the pond like screensaver, very therapeutic!!

I highly reccomend visiting both these places while you are in Hong Kong, it was honestly one of my favourite places here and to think that initially I was grumbling to Raphi that I don’t really wanna go see another temple!

P1190448

 

IMG_1658

A little shelter amidst the greenery, can you spot it?

 

IMG_1657

P1190450

Me caught in a less than flattering moment.

P1190439

This was the entrance to the famous Chi Lin Vegetarian restaurant, it was closed by the time we got there but I’ve heard some great reviews of this place, definitely a must try if you are in the area (and into vegan stuff)

Below is the exterior of the restaurant, it overlooks a small pond and has cascading waterfalls over the windows, it must be quite a nice effect looking from the inside while having lunch.

P1190441

P1190453

P1190456

Again the unavoidable tall buildings, throughout my pictures I try my best to exclude them but sometimes they just stand out from the back.

P1190454

P1190452

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

P1190466

P1190460

Its pigeon-y love. Can you spot the 2 lovers?

If you wonder how to get here, check out my first blog post on Chi Lin Nunnery. Directions are written there :

https://airydreamer.wordpress.com/2014/08/17/chi-lin-nunnery/

