Banana Chocolate Loaf Cake

Banana Chocolate loaf cake by airydreamer

 

It’s a match made in heaven, the perfect symphony of banana and chocolate. Both rich and creamy but when blended together compliments so well without overpowering the other. I love the smell of banana loaf cakes that fill the house of my aunt’s when I was a teen. It always brings sweet memories of relax afternoon after school.

Banana Chocolate loaf cake by airydreamer 

I’ve always been a big fan for loaf cakes because it’s simple, fuss-free and delicious! It makes an excellent gift to your new neighbour or bring to a party, easy to transport and you know it will taste good! I made mine this weekend for the guys who help manage the apartment block, they’ve been so nice with me calling them all the time! I had the unfortunate luck this week of my air-con breaking down and my door rot finally giving way to a big nice hole for pest to come in! I can’t have that and they took no time to fix it!

It’s delicious and the boys loved it.

Banana Chocolate loaf slices

No creams and ganache, most loaf cakes are made to already pack a powerful punch of flavour and goes so well with afternoon tea or even breakfast!! I love the crisp browning on top of the cake and how it splits open right in the centre to show you the soft delicious cake and chocolate!

So heres my recipe to it! It’s been altered from my aunt’s original recipe and I didn’t add in nuts but you may include some walnuts if you like some additional texture in your loaf cake~!

Packing loaf into baking paper

 

Banana Chocolate loaf cake by airydreamer

Banana Chocolate Loaf Cake

113g         Butter, soften

2               Eggs

190g        Flour

2               Tablespoon white vinegar (Optional I forgot it this time and it tasted fine)

120ml      Milk

150g         Sugar

1 tspn      Baking soda

1tspn       Vanilla essence

4 to 5      Ripe bananas, smashed

60g          Chocolate, chopped

============================================================

1) In a big bowl, blend butter and sugar until white and fluffy. Preheat oven to 180 degrees

2) Add in the eggs, one at a time, mix well before adding the next egg.

3) Pour in the bananas and use a large baking spoon to mix ingredients

4) Next add in flour, baking soda, milk, vinegar and vanilla essence. Mix remaining ingredients and stir in a folding pattern.
(Using spoon go round the edge of the batter then folding into the center in 1 direction, repeat till mixed)

5) Cake mix may appear lumpy but its ok. Now add in the chopped chocolate and combine.

6) Pour cake mix into loaf tin lined with baking paper on the bottom. Bake for 35 to 40 Mins.

============================================================

I had this old recipe book from back when I started cooking in my teens and its really a crappy old binder notebook filled with notes and recipes. Absolutely horrendous and stained with sauces and chocolates haha!! I lost it once when I was packing my house and it really upset me. So I started uploading my recipes here, on top of that now I’ve recently included a new hobby of water painting and started a water painted recipe book!

Here’s my Banana cake page:

Watercolor recipe book by Airydreamer

 

Perfect gift for the neighbours

So hope you guys try this out! Its really delicious and simple to make, tell me if you did! Have a good week ahead.