Sunny bass & lemongrass lime pasta

IMG_2869 In details, this is a pan fried sea bass with mango chutney and lemongrass & lime base. Its a fusion of Indian, thai and western, I love the smell of Khafir lime leaves since the first time I ate a dish in Thailand many years ago. I love the smell of khafir lime in soaps, it always made me feel so energised and refreshed!!

It was enjoyable to make as it was to eat, the smell of lemongrass and khafir lime leaves are heavenly, one of my favourite smells in the world…Oh my kitchen was so lovely that evening!! Its a little complex to make as it requires time management and making of several different sections of the dish but perfect if you wanna impress a little someone or make it for a special night.

 

On a side note; This long weekend I’ll be heading out to finally see Borobudur! Its been on my list of places to see for a while and I’m excited thinking about all the activities to do there! Follow me on instagram to get the latest from my travel!

I am planning to buy back little souvenirs for my readers so please stay tune about it!

IMG_2880

Sunny Bass Lemongrass & Lime Pasta (Serves 2)

The fish & pasta

1 fillet of sea bass, halved, seasoned salt & pepper
Pasta for 2 people, boiled al dente, set aside.

Lemongrass & lim sauce

2 stalks of lemongrass, thinly sliced.
3 slices of ginger
2 shallots, thinly sliced.
2 garlic shallots , thinly sliced.
5 Khafir lime leaves, thinly sliced
1 tablespoon of butter
250ml of chicken stock or 230ml of water with half a cube of chicken stock
A handful of coriander leaves
100ml of coconut milk (Or less if you prefer, add to your preference)

Mango chutney

1/2 a mango, cubed
1/3 big red chilli, deseeded and chopped into tiny pieces
Handful of coriander and khafir lime leaves, thinly sliced
1 teaspoon of molasses sugar (dark brown sugar)
1 teaspoon of lemon or lime juice

A) Make the sauce

Step 1 : Melt butter in a heated pot and throw in the lemongrass,ginger,shallots,garlic and lime leaves in. Cook until soften and colourless, and the smells are released from the herbs.

Step 2 : Pour in the chicken stock and bring it to a boil, after that, lower the fire to a simmer and let it simmer for 15 mins.

Step 3 : Strain all the herbs out of the soup base, it should have reduce a little.

Step 4 : In low heat, add in the coconut milk bit by bit till you are satisfied by the taste. Add coriander leaves and turn off fire.

IMG_2882

B) Pan fry the fish :

Step 1 : Pan fry the fish on a hot pan, skin side first, when the fish is crispy below, turn it over for 10 seconds to sear the top and give it colour.  Lower the fire and cook the fish throughly .

C) Easy Mango Chutney:

Step 1 : Mix Mango, chilli, leaves, sugar and lime juice together, combine well and keep refrigerated until ready for use.

IMG_2859

Once all 3 parts are done, it’s time to plate them up!!   Start with pasta, in a small bundle :

IMG_2858

Place the pan friend fish on top of the pasta :

IMG_2860

Pour the lemongrass & lime soup over the fish and pasta (heat up the sauce again if its cold) :

IMG_2861

Add  khafir lime leaves around the sauce and fish :

IMG_2864

Finally, top the fish with generous amounts of mango chutney :

IMG_2866

A final squeeze of lime just before eating!

IMG_2870

Some how the smell and herbs of the sauce compliments very well with the sea bass and pasta, the mango chutney goes well with the sauce as well and gives different texture, taste and makes the fish less dry. I personally love the taste of savoury sweet dishes so this dish is PERFECTO!

 

Thanks for dropping by my blog once again and sorry i’ve not updated recently! I’ve been so busy at work and trying to have time for my friends, family and love. It’s important to not be so stuck to the computer all the time and enjoy all the beautiful things in real life!! For example trying out this dish in real life! I recommend you do it 🙂

All my love to all my readers! 

IMG_2872

