The Giant Buddha

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Lantau Island is home to one of the biggest Buddha in Asia. When you’re in Hong Kong, take time to come down to lantau island if not to see the grand buddha, but what the buddha sees.

Lantau is a hilly island covered in sea mist, its beautiful and enchanting. From where the buddha sits, you can see Po lin monastery amongst the greenery, the cable car that reaches out from one hill to another. Extremely peaceful and serene and great for trekking and hiking activities.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Our seemingly long climb up ws actually quite ok. Below a picture of me making my way up, Raphi was sure I would be nagging my way up to the top but I was surprisingly ok with the climb. Perhaps it was from all the “training” he gave me over the years climbing hills and mountains to get to parks.

 

P1190595

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Halfway up our ascend to the top.

IMG_1689

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Po lin Monastery

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I really like this particular picture. Somehow something about it makes it very spiritual. I feel like this is probably what the builders were trying to depict, the buddha in the heavens.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

P1190600

P1190616

 

P1190601